parsllka.blogg.se

Only the brave cast red box
Only the brave cast red box




only the brave cast red box

A real ‘they don’t make ‘em like this anymore, but they should’ picture. Top Gun: Maverick is a throwback to the golden age of the blockbuster. I wrote in my review that I thought Maverick ticked enough boxes to make people smile, but perhaps I underestimated how hungry we are for a movie like this in our current landscape.

only the brave cast red box

Both of them were glued to their seats throughout, gasping at each death-defying stunt. I went to see Maverick the second time with my wife and my sister - the former a Top Gun fan and the latter having never seen it. The MCU has had close to 30 movies and not once has it used a musical cue as well as Top Gun: Maverick brings in Lady Gaga’s Hold My Hand. Maverick is intense, triumphant, nail biting, and romantic. Naturally, Hollywood is now going to seek to replicate this success, but I worry it’s going to do it in all the wrong ways. As always, it remains to be seen how the movie holds, but it’s clear that Top Gun: Maverick has found the recipe for success. It’s the first time Cruise has had an opening above $100 million, and looking at his career (and looking the other way when it comes to weird Scientology bullshit), you have to say he deserves it. Top Gun: Maverick had the biggest opening weekend of Tom Cruise’s career, and when you consider he’s “on the movie star Mount Rushmore,” that’s saying something. But judging by the early box office, I’m not alone in seeing it this weekend. Judging by the critical reaction, I’m mostly alone in this feeling. I saw Top Gun: Maverick again at the weekend, and came away feeling largely the same way I did when I reviewed it a month ago - there were too many callbacks, too many manipulative fakeouts, it steps on its own heroic ending twice, and while the shots are gorgeous, the story was too thin for the movie to be great.






Only the brave cast red box